January 17, 2011

  • Miscellany

    So I colored my hair tonight.  In keeping with my Dave Ramsey new budgeting style (all the cool kids are doing it – haha), I have been working on cutting unnecessary expenses, and well – lets just say a ten dollar box of hair color is WAY cheaper than what I have been paying to have my hair done.  I haven’t done my own color in probably ten years, and to say that this made me nervous is a HUGE understatement.  Now that it is done however, it is okay….maybe not my exact preference, but not horrible either.  I can definitely deal with this on my way to being debt free. :)   Also, another benefit would be that I had forgotten how silky soft my hair feels after being colored out of a box though – definitely like that part!!

    I would take pictures, but – well actually, I am too lazy to do my hair at this point tonight and too vain to post a picture without having made some attempt at fixing myself up.  Haha – you see my dilemma…

    Classes started again this week.  This would be the semester to take Corporate Finance.  I haven’t ever done a finance class before, but I think I am really going to like it based on what I have read so far in my textbook.  The problems and homework are taking some time, but it feels like time well spent.  It isn’t easy, but it is fun (if that makes any sense at all!) and I think it is going to be super good for me in the long run.

    I was sitting in the cafeteria at work today, eating lunch and working on homework when a lady standing in line next to my table asked what class I was studying for.  Turns out she is in the same class, with the same instructor, only taking it in the classroom instead of online.  She gave me her name and told me to look her up if I ever wanted to talk about class stuff.   I was pretty excited to meet a fellow student, and so after lunch I went to look her up to send her an email and turns out she is a VP in our group.  This is cool on a lot of different levels – most notably because I am excited about having someone to talk school with who is in the same class as me.  I was also excited because I have been wanting to find a woman to mentor me at work (I have a mentor, but he works in a different part of the company and as a male really doesn’t have the same perspective) – I don’t know that I have even formed it into a thought out prayer, but it has been a desire of mine for some time.  I don’t want to assume that this will end up as that sort of relationship, but wouldn’t it be just like the Lord to do that for me…even without me outright asking?  ;)

    Lots of cool things have been going on over here.  I need to blog more.  I don’t feel like I have a lot of down time right now, and there are lots of demands on my time, but I want this record of life – I want to be better about recording the journey.  God is doing lots of cool stuff around here.

    Later…

Comments (6)

  • Love it, Love it, Love it!!!  Glad good things are happening for you. 

  • that WOULD be just like the Lord to do that, He’s my fave. you go girl on the dave hair, i am super proud. and yes on coffee!

  • You are very brave to color your own hair. Or maybe I am just super wimpy. The couple of times I have attempted that, my hair has turned out a color not found in nature. And then I would have to get it corrected in a salon. So it would end up costing me much more than just going to a salon for regular color. ha! But that is me. Yay, you!

    And that is super cool about the lady in your class. Could definitely be a God connection. Love that.

  • I normally color my own hair, and yes, I too love the way it feels after.  HOWEVER… I just had my hair professionally done because the last time I colored it, I looked like a calico cat – I didn’t do a good job.  Plus I wanted to spend my christmas money I got ON ME for once :)

    Cool about God doing great things!! :)   Love you

  • You are an amazing woman!  I used to color my own hair all the time.  I’ve been going to the beauty school for the past year or so, just because I am sick of sitting around my house trying not to get hair color on EVERYTHING!  It doesn’t wash off so easy.  How exciting about your new class friend!  Yay God!  Can’t wait to hear how that evolves.  Hugs.

  • Hi! Thanks for sharing your blog with me :)
    Yay you for doing the Dave Ramsey thing! We learned a lot from that. And coloring your own hair! I have done that a million times..sometimes I loved it, sometimes it was a disaster. Hopefully yours turned out perfectly!

    Awesome connection with the girl in your class! Love you!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *